Japan to impose 10-day quarantine on India, 5 other countries

Vietnam will study the reopening of commercial routes between Vietnam and Japan, South Korea. Photo: Vietnam Airlines. Photo: Hanoi Times. Sketched by the Pan Pacific Agency.

TOKYO, May 25, 2021, Kyodo. The Japanese government said Tuesday it will extend the quarantine period for travelers who have recently been to India and five other South Asian countries from six days to 10 days amid growing concerns over the India variant of the coronavirus, The Mainichi reported.

The measure, which also applies to Bangladesh, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, is set to take effect Friday.

Travelers who have been to any of these areas within 14 days of arriving in Japan will be required to stay in a designated facility for the mandatory 10 days, during which they will be tested for the coronavirus three times.

As Japan has already banned the entry of foreign nationals, including those with resident status, who have been to those countries within the past two weeks, except under special circumstances, the measure primarily effects Japanese citizens.

The government also said it will newly impose a three-day quarantine period on travelers who have recently been to Britain, Denmark, Kazakhstan or Tunisia, with a coronavirus test on the final day.

“There is a strong feeling of unease among the Japanese people regarding coronavirus variants, so we have decided to further tighten border controls in order to protect their health and lives,” Chief Cabinet Secretary Katsunobu Kato told a press conference.

Share it

Exclusive: Beyond the Covid-19 world's coverage