Extended national state of emergency and localized quarantine runs thru Sep 30 in Peru

Congress of Peru. Photo by the ANDINA. Sketched by the Pan Pacific Agency.

LIMA, Sep 1, 2020, ANDINA. The extension of the state of national emergency and the quarantine focused on some areas of Peru starts today. The measures will be in force thru September 30 over the serious circumstances that affect the life of the nation as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, ANDINA reported.

According to Supreme Decree No. 146-2020-PCM, a total of 4 regions and 46 provinces become quarantined zones.

Below is the list of areas:


-Cusco region
-Moquegua region
-Puno region
-Tacna region


-Bagua, Chachapoyas, Condorcanqui and Utcubamba (Amazonas)
-Santa, Casma, Huaraz and Huarmey (Áncash)
-Abancay (Apurímac)
-Camaná, Islay, Cailloma and Castilla (Arequipa)
-Huamanga, Huanta, Lucanas and Parinacochas (Ayacucho)
-Cajamarca and Jaén (Cajamarca)
-Huancavelica, Angaraes and Tayacaja (Huancavelica)
-Huánuco, Leoncio Prado, Puerto Inca and Huamalíes (Huánuco).
-Ica, Pisco, Nazca and Palpa (Ica)
-Huancayo, Satipo and Chanchamayo (Junín)
-Trujillo, Pacasmayo, Chepén, Ascope, Sánchez Carrión and Virú (La Libertad)
-Barranca, Cañete, Huaura and Huaral (Lima)
-Tambopata (Madre de Dios)
-Pasco and Oxapampa (Pasco)

The quarantines focused on regions constitute a good alternative within the strategy to face the coronavirus pandemic in Peru, said Health Minister Pilar Mazzetti.


During the state of national emergency, mandatory social immobilization (curfew) is provided from 10:00 p.m. to 04:00 a.m. the next day, Mondays thru Saturdays.

However, in the regions of Cusco, Moquegua, Puno and Tacna —as well as in the aforementioned 46 provinces— curfew is in force from 8:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. the next day.

Also, on Sundays, nationwide compulsory social immobilization will be in force all day long until 4:00 am on Monday.

It must be noted that —during the mandatory social immobilization— strictly necessary personnel, who participate in the provision of essential goods and services, will be exempted from the measure.


Social gatherings —including those held at homes and family visits— are prohibited for health reasons in order to avoid the increase in COVID-19 infections.

State of health emergency

Likewise, the Government on Friday decided to extend the state of health emergency in the country for 90 days as the risk of damage to people’s health —due to the coronavirus pandemic— persists.

According to Supreme Decree No. 027-2020-SA, the extension will begin on September 8 and last until December 7.

The regulation will allow the health sector to quickly acquire goods and services aimed at facing the pandemic without the need for public tenders.

As is known, the current state of health emergency started on June 10 and ends on September 7.

Share it

Exclusive: Beyond the Covid-19 world's coverage